(CBS Detroit) — As residents prepare to celebrate the new year, the state of Michigan has rules to follow on fireworks.
According to the state, fireworks can be used beginning 11 a.m. Friday, Dec. 31 until 1 a.m. Saturday, Jan. 1.READ MORE: Here Is The Top 'Should I...' Question Googled In Michigan In 2021, AT&T Reports
They can only be used on personal properties and cannot be set off at schools, churches or on streets. Consumers can check local ordinances as they may have more restrictions than the state.READ MORE: GM Secures Tax Abatement For Proposed $1.3B Orion Assembly Plant Investment
Violating firework laws could lead to prison or fines of up to $10,000.
© 2021 CBS Broadcasting Inc. All Rights Reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.MORE NEWS: Chief White Says 'There's Reason To Believe' Remains Found In Detroit Belong to Missing Mother Latima Warren