If you’re into the Detroit local music scene, you’ve probably heard the name Ryan Allen dropped at least once or twice. You may remember him as the guitarist and vocalist from the super-popular post-punk revival band Thunderbirds Are Now! – you know, the one that was signed to FrenchKiss Records and did an international tour (Rolling Stone Magazine even named their album Make History as one of the top 50 albums of 2006). Maybe you know him from his time in Detroit power punk-pop band Friendly Foes, who made a name for themselves in the late ’00s, before disbanding in 2010. Or maybe you’ve heard him in his indie rock band Destroy This Place – they recently played the BERSERKER festival in Ferndale, and are currently recording their next album.

READ MORE: The Detroit Zoo To Host Its Final Weekend Of Family-Friendly Halloween Event 'Zoo Boo' Oct. 22-24

Whichever it is, Ryan Allen has rightfully claimed a spot in the Detroit music scene, and lately, he’s been working on his solo project, Ryan Allen & His Extra Arms. He’s on the verge of releasing his second album as RA&HEA, Heart String Soul. His solo style is a bit different than his punk and indie rock sounds of Thunderbirds Are Now!, Friendly Foes, and Destroy This Place. It’s more power-pop, with catchy lyrics, caramelized vocals, and dancing guitar riffs.

Though Ryan Allen & His Extra Arms is a solo project, Ryan will sometimes feature another artist (or artists) in the music – hence the “Extra Arms”. To celebrate his newest album, Heart String Soul, Ryan Allen & His Extra Arms is having a special CD release show this Saturday, March 28th, at The Berkley Front in Berkley. Doors are at 9pm, and there is a $10 cover for single entry and $15 cover for couples – with your cover, you will also receive a FREE Copy of Heart String Soul. But don’t worry, if you’ve already ordered a copy, you can show proof of purchase at the door and they’ll let you in for free!

In preparation for Saturday’s album release show, we’ve decided to dedicate this week’s Detroit Proud Playlist to Ryan Allen & His Extra Arms – and we’ve picked our 10 favorite RA&HEA tracks.

But, before you check those out, we also have a special surprise for you. Directed by Ryan’s brother, Scott Allen (who was also in Thunderbirds Are Now!), comes the music video for the track “Why Are You Freaking Me Out?”…watch it here!

READ MORE: Kalamazoo Tests For Lead Exposure Following High-Lead Level Reports In Other Michigan Cities

Now…check out those playlist picks!

1.    “Looking Forward To Looking Back”
2.    “Young American Nomads”
3.    “Back To Square One”
4.    “Why Are You Freaking Me Out”
5.    “Born Radical”

6.    “Heart String Soul”
7.    “Impossible People”
8.    “Headache Nights”
9.    “Why Can’t I Sleep?”
10.    “Unpacking”

MORE NEWS: Michigan Reports 7,505 New COVID-19 Cases, 118 Deaths

Find more information on the Ryan Allen & His Extra Arms release show here and more information on Ryan Allen & His Extra Arms here!